South Shore Coalition Subregional Area Study

Home » Information Center » Publications » Archived Publications

report coverPublished 10/05

The South Shore Coalition (SSC) subregion consists of 11 communities southeast of Boston: Cohasset, Duxbury, Hanover, Hingham, Hull, Marshfield, Norwell, Pembroke, Rockland, Scituate, and Weymouth (Figure 1). The area is bounded by the Atlantic Ocean to the east, roughly circumscribed by the Kingston/Plymouth commuter rail line to the west, and bisected by Route 3, which runs through the subregion from the northwest to the southeast. In addition to Route 3, major state-numbered highways/arterials include Routes 3A, 18, 53, and 228 in the north/south direction and Routes 14, 123, and 139 in the east/west direction.

Due to existing—and anticipated increases in—congestion, and mobility and safety concerns, the SSC subregion was chosen for a subregional study. The objectives of the study were to:

  1. Develop a subregional profile in terms of the following characteristics, using existing data.
  2. Identify and prioritize mobility concerns that are not addressed by planned projects or studies and, with the assistance of an Advisory Task Force, select two or three concerns for future in-depth analysis.
  3. Add the data describing the profile of the SSC to the database containing similar data collected in the past for profiles of other subregions. This will allow for a comprehensive set of data that will eventually cover the entire Boston Region Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) area.

Download documents: